Didier Deschamps’ list for the World Cup in Qatar


As before each major event, Didier Deschamps will announce his final list for the 2022 World Cup. He is therefore the guest of the TF1’s 8 o’clock news this Wednesday, November 9.

It has almost become a ritual and everyone has been waiting for it for quite some time now. As it had already been the case for the announcements for the World Cups 2014 and 2018, and for the Euros 2016 and 2021, the coach of the French Team is the guest of the JT of 20 hours of TF1 this Wednesday evening. He will unveil the list of the lucky ones who will head to Qatar on November 20. In total, no less than 26 players had been called up on May 18, 2021 with a view to playing in the European Championship. This time, Didier Deschamps should retain at least 25 names, according to the latest decisions taken Wednesday morning for the staff.


Following his televised intervention, the French coach will detail his choices in a press conference. He will also have to send his final list to FIFA before Monday, November 14 – 19 hours. However, he will still have the possibility to call on certain players in case of unexpected injury, and this, until November 21, the day before the start of the competition against Australia. Some players will remain on the alert and mobilized to be ready in case of a possible glitch.

In preparation for the competition, the players of the French team will meet at noon on Monday (November 14) in Clairefontaine. After two days in the training center, the French delegation will head for Doha on Wednesday morning. Landing is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. local time, just under a week before its first game. The Blues will then follow up with their first session at Al-Sadd, located less than 15 minutes from their base camp.

  • Goalkeepers: Alphonse Areola (West Ham / ANG), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham / ANG), Steve Mandanda (Rennes)
  • Defenders Lucas Hernandez (Bayern Munich / GER), Theo Hernandez (AC Milan / ITA), Axel Disasi (Monaco), Ibrahima Konaté (Liverpool / ANG), Jules Koundé (FC Barcelona / ESP), Benjamin Pavard (Bayern Munich / GER), William Saliba (Arsenal / ANG), Dayot Upamecano (Bayern Munich / GER), Raphael Varane (Manchester United / ANG)
  • Midfielders: Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid / ESP), Youssouf Fofana (Monaco), Mattéo Guendouzi (OM), Adrien Rabiot (Juventus Turin / ITA), Aurélien Tchouaméni (Real Madrid / ESP), Jordan Veretout (OM)
  • Attackers: Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich / GER), Ousmane Dembélé (FC Barcelona / ESP), Olivier Giroud (AC Milan / ITA), Antoine Griezmann (Atlético de Madrid/ESP), Kylian Mbappé (PSG), Randal Kolo Muani (Frankfurt / GER), Marcus Thuram (Mönchengladbach)